There are no recent bookmarks.

universal accessibility

Accessibility Info

Please Note: This event has expired.

USC Symphony Orchestra: Music of the Americas

Presented by USC School of Music at Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia SC

Nov 02 2023
USC Symphony Orchestra: Music of the Americas

The University of South Symphony Orchestra welcomes special guest artists include twice Grammy-nominated guitarist Mak Grgic and soprano Diana Thompson-Brewer.

Conducted by Scott Weiss, the program includes works from composers from all corners of the Americas including Brooklyn-born composer and flautist Jennifer Higdon’s Blue Cathedral;  Samuel Barber’s Knoxville, Summer of 1915;  Argentinean composer Alberto Ginastera‘s Four Dances from “Estancia” and Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas’ Sensemayá.  Mak Grgic performs Michael Abel’s Borders, a piece commissioned by ROCO & Quad City Symphony and Grgic.


General public – $30 Seniors / military / USC faculty and staff – $25 Children under 18 and non-USC students with ID – $8 USC Students – free with student ID – must be picked up from the Koger Box Office (corner of Park and Greene) before 5:00 p.m. on the day of the performance or in the Koger Center lobby immediately prior to the performance.

Contact: (803) 251-2222

    Official Website


Koger Center for the Arts

1051 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29201

CONNECT WITH USC School of Music