There are no recent bookmarks.

2022-2023 Board of Directors

Kristin Morris, President

Kristin Morris manages the communications team for the Mathematical Association of America. She has spent nearly two decades working in media, communications and arts non-profits, including WACH Fox 57, The Nickelodeon, South Carolina Philharmonic and Girls Rock Columbia. Kristin was born and raised in the Midlands and graduated from the University of South Carolina.

Lindsay Medlin, Treasurer

Lindsay Medlin is an audit senior manager at Bauknight, Pietras and Stormer with experience serving the nonprofit, telecommunications, technology, manufacturing, transportation, captive insurance, retail, real estate, and distribution industries. Medlin is passionate about Columbia and serving the community through her involvement in various nonprofit boards, including One Columbia.

Michaela Pilar Brown, Secretary

Michaela Pilar Brown is an independent curator and multidisciplinary artist using photography, installation, collage, painting, and performance. Her work can be found in private and public museum collections across the United States, and is the 2018 grand prize winner of the Artfields juried art competition, among many other prestigious awards and recognitions. Additionally, Brown serves on the board of directors for the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund, the oldest ongoing feminist granting agency.

Tyler D. Bailey

Tyler D. Bailey is the founder and managing partner at Bailey Law Firm, LLC and represents clients in both state and federal courts. Bailey also sits on the board of directors for the South Carolina Association for Justice, American Association for Justice, and the advisory board for the National Crime Victims Bar Association.

Donaven Doughty

Donaven Doughty is a documentary filmmaker and founder of Another Story Acknowledged, where he develops and produces community-focused campaigns for companies and organizations to further a movement’s impact through powerful, unheard stories. His clients include Redbull, Major League Soccer, Columbia Metropolitan Airport, Historic Columbia, and Benedict College.

Phillip Higgins

Phillip Higgins is the director of marketing operations for AgFirst Farm Credit Bank and part of the bank’s senior leadership team. Over the course of his career, and in the 20 years he’s lived in Columbia, Higgins has worked in many industries and volunteered for a variety of causes that support and help grow our community.

Omme-Salma Rahemtullah

Omme-Salma Rahemtullah is the director of advocacy and policy at FoodShare South Carolina, a statewide food access organization. She is also an independent film and media programmer and the former film programmer at The Nickelodeon.

Joel Rodriguez

Jescelyn Spitz

Jescelyn “Jes” Spitz is an attorney with Rikard & Protopapas with experience in many areas of civil litigation. In addition to her law practice and her work with One Columbia, Spitz also has served in many leadership positions with Junior League of Columbia and has volunteered with various animal rescue organizations. She is also a member of several law associations and co-editor of the Richland County Bar Association’s newsletter.

David Stringer