IMPORTANT! Due to the response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) events on this site may be postponed or canceled. Site visitors should refer to the event organizer's website for possible schedule changes.

Please Note: This event has expired.

Bach and Stravinsky

Presented by South Carolina Philharmonic at Online/Virtual Space

Mar 20 2021
Bach and Stravinsky

Principal Harp, Carolyn Munford, performs Tailleferre’s Concertino, along with Bach’s orchestral and Stravinsky’s Pulcinella suites. Guest Artist Carolyn Munford on the harp

Program Notes

Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067

The four orchestral suites (called ouvertures by their author), BWV 1066–1069 are four suites by Johann Sebastian Bach. The name ouverture refers only in part to the opening movement in the style of the French overture, in which a majestic opening section in relatively slow dotted-note rhythm in duple meter is followed by a fast fugal section, then rounded off with a short recapitulation of the opening music. More broadly,

View more

CONNECT WITH South Carolina Philharmonic